Premier League top scorers 2022/23: Who is leading the race for the Golden Boot? | The Sun

Premier League top scorers 2022/23: Who is leading the race for the Golden Boot? | The Sun


IT is the most sought-after prize among Premier League forwards – and is a sure way of deciding who is the best striker in the English top flight.

Last year, Mohamed Salah and Son Heung-min shared the award with legends such as Thierry Henry, Cristiano Ronaldo and Harry Kane previously scooping the prize.

Who are the favourites to win the Premier League Golden Boot?

Once again, Liverpool superstar Salah is expected to be right at the top of the standings but he will face fierce competition.

New Manchester City signing Erling Haaland, Tottenham’s Harry Kane and Son Heung-min as well as Gabriel Jesus at Arsenal are all candidates to net the most.

Liverpool also brought in Darwin Nunez and Ronaldo is a sure bet to score plenty at an underperforming Manchester United.

Outsiders for the gong are the likes of Callum Wilson at Newcastle, Raheem Sterling at Chelsea and Jamie Vardy at Leicester.


Every Prem Golden Boot winner as Salah hunts down Henry with third award

When is the 2022 World Cup? Date, TV channel, live stream, groups, kick-offs

Premier League top scorers 2022/23

As of Saturday, November 5 (11pm)

  1. Erling Haaland – Man City – 18
  2. Harry Kane – Tottenham – 11
  3. Aleksandar Mitrovic – Fulham – 9
  4. Ivan Toney – Brentford – 8
  5. Miguel Almiron – Newcastle – 8
  6. Leandro Trossard – Brighton – 7
  7. Rodrigo Moreno – Leeds – 7
  8. Roberto Firmino – Liverpool – 6
  9. Phil Foden – Man City – 6
  10. James Maddison – Leicester – 6
  11. Callum Wilson – Newcastle – 6
  12. Wilfried Zaha – Crystal Palace – 6

Who scored in the Premier League this week?

Man City's Erling Haaland returned from injury to notch his 18th goal of the season from the penalty spot in a 2-1 over Fulham.

Premier League 2022/23

Everything you need to know about the Premier League

Premier League top scorers 2022/23: Who is leading the Golden Boot race?

Premier League owners – Who are the richest?

What is the TV football blackout law in the UK?

Premier League prize money: How much can each term earn?

What happens if a manager gets booked or sent off?

How much do Premier League referees get paid?

How many substitutions can Premier League teams make this season and how do the intervals work?

What is the offside rule in football, and how to explain it?

How will VAR work in the Premier League this season?

Why aren’t Premier League players taking the knee every weekend?

Most Premier League clean sheets ever – how Seaman, Cech, James and Van der Sar stack up

Who has previously won the Premier League Golden Boot?

  • 1992/93 – Terry Sheringham (Tottenham), 22 goals
  • 1993/94 – Andy Cole (Newcastle), 34 goals
  • 1994/95 – Alan Shearer (Blackburn), 34 goals
  • 1995/96 – Alan Shearer (Blackburn), 31 goals
  • 1996/97 – Alan Shearer (Newcastle), 25 goals
  • 1997/98 – Chris Sutton (Blackburn), Dion Dublin (Coventry), Michael Owen (Liverpool), 18 goals
  • 1998/99 – Michael Owen (Liverpool), Dwight Yorke (Man Utd), Jimmy-Floyd Hasselbaink (Leeds), 18 goals
  • 1999/00 – Kevin Phillips (Sunderland), 30 goals
  • 2000/01 – Jimmy-Floyd Hasselbaink (Chelsea), 23 goals
  • 2001/02 – Thierry Henry (Arsenal), 24 goals
  • 2002/03 – Ruud van Nistelrooy (Man Utd), 25 goals
  • 2003/04 – Thierry Henry (Arsenal), 30 goals
  • 2004/05 – Thierry Henry (Arsenal), 25 goals
  • 2005/06 – Thierry Henry (Arsenal), 27 goals
  • 2006/07 – Didier Drogba (Chelsea), 20 goals

Most read in Football


Gary Neville mocked for 'taking the Qataris' money' over World Cup role


Three Lions ace Ivan Toney probed over match-betting ahead of World Cup


Frank claims Forest groundsman INJURED Brentford coach in pre-match bust-up


Man Utd 'eye Sesko & Vlahovic transfers as they plan for life without Ronaldo'

Cristiano Ronaldo was the Premier League's top goalscorer in the 2007/08 seasonCredit: Reuters
  • 2007/08 – Cristiano Ronaldo (Man Utd), 31 goals
  • 2008/09 – Nicolas Anelka (Chelsea), 19 goals
  • 2009/10 – Didier Drogba (Chelsea), 29 goals
  • 2010/11 – Carlos Tevez (Man City), Dimitar Berbatov (Man Utd), 20 goals
  • 2011/12 – Robin van Persie (Arsenal), 30 goals
  • 2012/13 – Robin van Persie (Man Utd), 26 goals
  • 2013/14 – Luis Suarez (Liverpool), 31 goals
  • 2014/15 – Sergio Aguero (Man City), 26 goals
  • 2015/16 – Harry Kane (Tottenham), 25 goals
  • 2016/17 – Harry Kane (Tottenham), 29 goals
  • 2017/18 – Mohamed Salah (Liverpool), 32 goals
  • 2018/19 – Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Arsenal), Sadio Mane (Liverpool), Mohamed Salah (Liverpool), 22 goals
  • 2019/20 – Jamie Vardy (Leicester), 23 goals
  • 2020/21 – Harry Kane (Tottenham), 23 goals
  • 2021/22 – Mohamed Salah (Liverpool), Son Heung-min (Tottenham), 23 goals

What Son said after sharing Golden Boot with Salah

After sharing the 2021/22 award with Salah of Liverpool, Tottenham’s Son was ecstatic.

He said: “Even Lucas [Moura] who came on, Stevie [Steven Bergwijn], H [Kane], Eric [Dier], Ben [Davies].

“Every player was next to me and said, ‘Sonny you've got to do this, you believe and you will get another chance’. Finally I scored and I scored second goal, it was just incredible.

“Today I missed the easiest chances but I scored one of the toughest chances.

“I'm very happy and I'm really, really grateful for the team that they helped me a lot, especially all season but this game today [Sunday], after 3-0 everyone was just like ‘Go on Son, go on Son! You got to do this, you deserve this’.

“I was really appreciative and that's why I was pushing myself as well.”

Source: Read Full Article