What is a Tier Two lockdown and what areas are included?

What is a Tier Two lockdown and what areas are included?


BORIS Johnson announced a new three-tier lockdown system on October 13, in a bid to curb the spread of coronavirus.

The Prime Minister set out his three-tier strategy in the House of Commons, with areas in England categorised into medium, high or very high risk. These tiers will inform the “appropriate interventions” needed in each area.

⚠️ Read our coronavirus live blog for the latest news & updates

What is a Tier Two lockdown?

Areas in Tier Two – where there is a high risk of coronavirus – are banned from mixing with other households indoors, including in pubs and restaurants.

When outside, only two households will be able to mix.

The PM said this "primarily aims to reduce household transmission by banning mixing indoors".

Social distancing measures, the "rule of six" outdoors and the 10pm curfew will continue in this tier.

Most areas which are currently subject to local restrictions will automatically move into it.



  • You cannot have people you do not live with over to your house
  • You cannot visit anyone else’s house
  • You cannot socialise with anyone outside your household in pubs, restaurants or any other indoor setting
  • You can still meet up to six people in a private garden or public outdoor setting, such as a park
  • Businesses will not be legally mandated to close
  • Social distancing and the 10pm curfew will be maintained

What areas will be under the Tier Two lockdown?

Tier Two includes the majority of the areas which were already under local restrictions.

These include Greater Manchester, Birmingham, Leicester and large parts of the North East and North West.

This is with the exception of Liverpool, Wirral, Sefton, Knowsley, St Helens and Halton, which have been placed in Tier Three.

Nottinghamshire, east and west Cheshire, and a small area of the High Peak are also being placed in Tier Two.

When will the Tier Two lockdown restrictions come into force?

The measures are expected to come into effect on Wednesday October 14 and will be debated and voted on in Parliament.

Commons Leader Jacob Rees-Mogg is expected to lay the regulations for all three tiers this afternoon (October 12).

How long will Tier Two lockdown restrictions last?

Restrictions will be reviewed regularly, and will be eased depending on the data.

The measures will be reviewed every month, however, this doesn't necessarily mean they will be in place for a specific amount of time.

At the end of September it was insinuated some of the restrictions could be in place for six months.

Source: Read Full Article